Patrons invited to apply for BVRC vacancy


Patrons invited to apply for BVRC vacancy

Patrons of Blue Valley Schools who have an interest in recreation and community service are invited to apply for a commissioner opening on the Blue Valley Recreation Commission (BVRC). 

No previous recreation commission experience is required. The deadline for applications is Wednesday, June 17, 2020. 

Seven commissioners, all members of the community, are appointed by the Blue Valley Board of Education to serve staggered four-year terms. Two commissioners are appointed from each of the three board member districts and one is an at-large appointment open to a person residing anywhere within the district boundaries. The open positions are in the Northeast and South area. The terms are four years, beginning Aug. 1, 2020 through July 31, 2024. 

The school district’s involvement with the commission is limited by statute, holding it responsible for the BVRC by appointing its commissioners, approving the budget and authorizing lease agreements. 

Any resident interested in a position on the commission is invited to send a completed application, letter of interest and résumé, no later than June 17, 2020, to Sarah Vaughn, Board Clerk, Blue Valley Schools, 15020 Metcalf Ave., Overland Park, KS 66283. Application and boundary information are available online at

The Blue Valley Board of Education will oversee the search process and conduct interviews in June. The BVRC is a policy-setting board, typically meeting at 7 p.m. on the third Wednesday of the month. It is important that commissioners are able to attend these meetings. In addition, commissioners serve on several committees, represent the commission at events and must be available for staff consultation. They receive no pay for their service to the commission. 

For more information about the appointment process, call Sarah Vaughn at (913) 239-4020. For details about BVRC or about the commissioner’s responsibilities, call BVRC Executive Director Steve Baysinger at (913) 685-6000. 

Communications Department, (913) 239-4347