Forty-nine Blue Valley students named National Merit semifinalists

Forty-nine Blue Valley seniors have been named National Merit semifinalists. These seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a merit scholarship, the semifinalists must fulfill several requirements and advance to the finalist round of the competition.

Students were named semifinalists after taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). The semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. Semifinalists from Blue Valley are:


Blue Valley High: Arish Ali, Phoenix M. Johnson, Sofia M. Loveland, Emma C. McClure, Bryce E. Merry, Nikhil S. Reddy, Carson S. Schmidt and Arul S. Sethi


Blue Valley North: Charles K. Gambill, Brian R. Garretson, Yujin Hahn, Damon J. Henderson, Lauren F. Herrington, Richard H. Koulen, Alec A. Liu, Grant H. Mao, Anna C. McCartan, Lucas F. Seeley and Braden M. Webb


Blue Valley Northwest: Ria Agarwal, Genevieve E. Ansay, Rhea A. Desai, Aaron P. Du, Marguerite E. Dyke, Declan L. Franey, Alex L. Gibson, Sneha M. Jacob, Naomi L. James, Yuwen H. Li, Ryan T. Mulrenan, Nikhitha S. Muthineni, Raabia I. Qureshi, Mikayla B. Rakolta, Shaurir A. Ramanujan, Ankith R. Sheshappa, Joseph J. Valenti and Phillip L. Zhuang


Blue Valley Southwest: Owen H. Li, Olivia C. Richey and Aatif K. Syed


Blue Valley West: Rayyan Abid, Alan M. Abraham, Tawfique Ali, Addison A. Barnes, Nicole M. Harrison, Sergej L. Kavs, Abihith Kothapalli, Aishani Saxena and Dylan Yan



Communications Department, 913-239-4347