BV West senior Aishani Saxena honored as U.S. Presidential Scholar

Every year only 161 high school seniors across the nation are selected and honored as U.S. Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s most prestigious national awards. Out of the nearly 3.6 million students expected to graduate from high school this year and more than 6,000 candidates qualified for the 2021 honor, Blue Valley West senior Aishani Saxena rose above and was selected to the 57th Class of U.S. Presidential Scholars. 


“Aishani is a tremendously driven student,” said Brett Potts, Blue Valley West Principal. “She is regarded as a leader, collaborator, and teammate among her peers and constantly seeks opportunities to challenge herself and excel in everything she does. She is passionate about science, research, and medicine and shows a great deal of talent and ability in those areas.”


The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Saxena, already named a National Merit finalist, adds another prestigious honor to wrap up her experience at Blue Valley West where she will graduate this week.

“Aishani is an advocate for those who are underrepresented and need a voice,” added Potts. “We believe she has the potential to change our world for the better.“


Saxena is the 17th student honored from a Blue Valley high school in the past 15 years and the third student from Blue Valley West. To view the full list of 2021 scholars, visit the U.S. Department of Education’s website. Dr. Heather Hall, Saxena’s science teacher at Blue Valley West, was also honored with the Presidential Scholar Program’s Distinguished Teachers Award for her commitment to student knowledge, skill, and performance.

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2021 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement this summer, where Saxena and the 160 other scholars will receive the Presidential Medallion.