Two Blue Valley North seniors receive national recognition

Two Blue Valley North seniors are among an elite group of high school seniors. Elizabeth Rushing Place and Luke Wen-Tsu Chen were among only 161 students named 2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars. Both Place and Chen plan to attend Harvard this fall.

The program recognizes the nation’s most distinguished high school seniors for their academic success, artistic excellence, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. The Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 to honor the nation’s top high school seniors. Each year, up to 161 students are named Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students. 

Earlier this year, 27 Blue Valley students representing every Blue Valley high school across the district were named as candidates for this highly selective program with four advancing as semifinalists*. 


Blue Valley High: Audrey R. Che, Janna S. Goodman, Genevieve V. Jarrell, Nancy T. Pei, Christian E. Vaz, Eleanor J. Warren

Blue Valley North:
Luke W. Chen*, Eric D. Garretson, Hannah Kwak, Elizabeth R. Place*, Emma G. Razi, David Stutz, Johnathan R. Subramanian, Kayoko E. Thornton

Blue Valley Northwest:
Gavin Goldston, Katherine E. Kirby, Mofei Wang, David Wen

Blue Valley Southwest:
David Mick, Harvin S. Sandhu, Parker B. Toman,

Blue Valley West:
Lisa Ji*, Naveen Kannan, Shishir K. Vargheese*, Kevin Xu, Kevin Zhao, Sophia Zhao

 Elizabeth Rushing PlaceLuke Wen-Tsu Chen